Burning Shore Press, Publisher of Literature

News & Events

Keep Independent Presses Independent! - Buy Directly Thru The Publisher

May 11, 2014 - Heaping Stones is now available as a Nook book from Barnes and Noble. Like its Kindle counterpart it is priced at $5.99 for a limited time.

May 4, 2014 - The Kindle Version of Heaping Stones is now out at a special price of $5.99. It will be available in Nook and other formats soon. Look for the rest of our catalog coming out in e-book form shortly.

March 24 2014 - Rob Woodard recently recorded a series of interviews in Sacramento, CA. Excerpts are available on YouTube, under the following titles: "Writing, Place, and Culture," "Structure," "Influences."

Burning Shore Press on Facebook

News & Events Archive


BACKWATERS OF BEAUTY - by Rob Woodard Available This Summer!

RW-EW

BACKWATERS OF BEAUTY: A NOVEL by Rob Woodard

Coastal Southern California many years from now. Our society has collapsed, as has its successor. However, small communities of survivors somehow have managed to carve idyllic lives out of this unpromising situation, partially by exploiting the extensive remains of their much more socially complex and numerous predecessors. But the ancient world they are raiding turns out to not quite be dead. Suddenly their gentle existence is shattered and they find themselves in a desperate fight for survival with their own past. The author describes this story as an eco-anarchist-SciFi adventure. It is also a probing futurist myth, which lays bare the disturbing cultural and ecological underpinnings of the societies we are creating today.

175 Pages (Estimate)
Publication Date: Summer 2014


EDGEWATER: POEMS 1992-2009 - by Rob Woodard

RW-EW

EDGEWATER: POEMS 1992-2009 by Rob Woodard

Rob Woodard's first volume of poetry collects the best of his work of nearly two decades. Taken together, these poems become a love letter to the poet's home region of Southern California, in the form of a wide ranging examination of love, loss, art, ecology, and what it might mean to be of far Western America in the early twenty-first century.

75 Pages
Publication Date: September 28, 2012

Purchase from Amazon


SONGS FROM THE SHOOTING GALLERY - by Tony O'Neill

Songs

SONGS FROM THE SHOOTING GALLERY: POEMS 1999-2006 by Tony O'Neill

Songs From The Shooting Gallery is an amazing, relentless, and highly dangerous poetic ride thru the drug netherworld of Los Angeles, England, New York, and beyond that somehow manages to break free of this dark subject matter and find light and humor in the most unexpected of places. It is also a caustic social manifesto that takes to task both the U.S. and U.K. for what they've allowed themselves to become at the beginning of this new century. Stark and uncompromising, these poems pull no punches and ask no quarter.

154 Pages
Publication Date: June 18th, 2007

Purchase from Amazon


DON GIOVANNI - by Dan Fante

DF-two plays

DON GIOVANNI: A PLAY by Dan Fante

Coming to the end of his life, the once great novelist turned Hollywood hack, Jonathan Dante, is forced to deal with his other legacies: his disintegrating health and profoundly dysfunctional family. Jonathan struggles to make sense of his relationship to his sons as they play out the drama of their broken lives before his fading sight, in a manner that ultimately causes the false choices of all to be revealed. With this work Dan Fante has created both a brutal and loving homage to his late father, the novelist John Fante, as well as an invaluable work in the development of American drama.

130 Pages
Publication Date: April 25, 2006

Purchase from Amazon


HEAPING STONES - by Rob Woodard

Heaping Stones

HEAPING STONES: A NOVEL by Rob Woodard
(Introduction by Dan Fante)

Wandering half-drunk thru his shattered life, an all-but-failed writer searches for no less than redemption thru his relationships with three women and his on-going battle with past. Ultimately he pushes himself to the edge of his sanity, as he begins to understand both the sorrow and beauty of the decisions he has made. Alternately angry and transformative, Heaping Stones is a classic L.A. novel in the tradition of John Fante and Charles Bukowski.

144 Pages
Publication Date: December 15, 2005

Purchase from Amazon (Print) Kindle Nook


Writers Corner

Excerpts from works by:
Dan Fante 
Tony O'Neill 
Rob Woodard